Author Dianne Warren is the Inaugural Recipient of the $20K Glengarry Book Award Prize

SSCF congratulates author Dianne Warren, the inaugural recipient of the $20,000 Glengarry Book Award prize for her novel ‘The Diamond House’. The Fund for the Glengarry Book Award was established at SSCF in 2021 through an endowment by Claire Kramer.


This award is inspired by and contributes to the province of Saskatchewan’s rich literary culture. It is open to established professional writers of fiction with a significant body of published work, recognition, and awards. Below is the press release from the Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts. You can also read it here.


Are you passionate about the arts? If so, SSCF encourages you to support the Glengarry Book Award Fund and other arts initiatives when possible. Reach out to us to learn how you can give back to your community now and forever.




Dianne Warren awarded inaugural Glengarry Book award of $20,000 for English-language fiction novel ‘The Diamond House’


Governor General award-winner receives largest literary prize in province’s history


Regina – December 2, 2021 – Launched by the Saskatchewan Foundation For the Arts in June of 2021, the Glengarry Book Award supports Saskatchewan’s literary culture. The $20,000 (CAD) prize celebrates authors with Saskatchewan roots; the 2021 award celebrates nationally recognized Canadian author Dianne Warren.


The award was the vision of donor and booklover Claire Kramer, a founding trustee of the Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts (SFFA). The Glengarry Book Award is an annual award for a first edition English language novel or book of short fiction.


“I am delighted to recognize the first recipient of the Glengarry Book Award. Dianne Warren has made a significant contribution to Canadian literature. She paints her actors with a fine brush and has a strong perception of character. The Diamond House is a great read.”, says Kramer.


Dianne Warren is an author from Regina. Warren won the National Magazine Gold Award for Fiction and the Western Magazine Award for Fiction. She also won the Marian Engel Award from the Writers’ Trust of Canada in 2004. Her first novel, Cool Water, won the Governor General’s Award for English-language fiction in 2010 and was also longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.


Warren says, “It’s such a great honour to be the first recipient of this prize. I feel very fortunate that the jury chose to recognize The Diamond House, and I’m so grateful to Claire Kramer for her gift to writers and books. When you are in the process of writing a novel, you are so immersed in the world of the story that it feels alive, and there is a kind of loss when the book is finished. A prize such as the Glengarry can draw attention to a book so that it can live again in the minds and imaginations of readers. It is very difficult for all the good Canadian books to garner the attention they deserve, and I am grateful for every new reader that the Glengarry Prize might attract to The Diamond House.”


The Glengarry Book Award is managed and administered by the SFFA. Valerie Creighton, President and CEO of the Canada Media Fund, led the formation of the jury and the adjudication of the entries. The jury, comprised of a Canadian author, publisher and former judge and diplomat, selected The Diamond House for its superior writing, character, and plot development. The jury also wished to recognize If Sylvie Had Nine Lives by Leona Theis, Vermin by Lori Hahnel and Small Reckonings by Karin Melberg Schweir.


Three-time Governor General award-winning author Guy Vanderhaeghe says, “The announcement of the $20,000 Glengarry Book Award by the Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts is a cause for celebration by all who care about the distinguished Saskatchewan literary tradition that first found expression with Sinclair Ross and W.O. Mitchell and which has, in the work of their successors, continued to give vibrant voice to this place and this people. The generosity of Claire Kramer, who funded The Glengarry Book Award, needs to be applauded. It is proof that the arts matter here.”


In addition to the launch of the national ‘Saskatchewan roots’ Glengarry Book Award, in 2021, the Foundation will provide an additional eight awards of $5,000 each, supported by the SFFA’s six named endowment funds to Saskatchewan artists in various disciplines.


“The Glengarry Book award follows a long history of Saskatchewan arts patrons supporting and celebrating the arts. We are honored to be a part of recognizing the creativity of literary artists who have made their mark on Saskatchewan. Whether they started their career here or were raised here, they are connected to this land and our province. We celebrate Dianne Warren as the 2021 Glengarry Book Award recipient. This is a momentous time in the Foundation’s history”, says Gursh Barnard, Chair of the SFFA’s board of trustees.


About the Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts 


The Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts (SFFA) is a public Foundation dedicated solely to creating a legacy of financial support for the arts and artists in Saskatchewan, through the generous financial support of individuals, organizations, and corporations.


Gursh Barnard: Chair Board of Trustees

Tel: 306-737-8980


Skip to content